Sharing Projects & Collaborating

Available for:
Free
Premium
Business

Todoist makes it easy to collaborate with anyone – share projects, assign tasks, and discuss details with coworkers or loved ones. You’ll be notified whenever important changes happen in your shared projects.

Once you invite someone to a project, you’ll be able to assign them tasks and send them comments.

sharing-web-assign.jpg


sharing-web-notify.jpg

sharing-windows-assign.jpg


sharing-windows-notify.jpg

sharing-ios-assign.jpg


sharing-ios-notify.jpg

sharing-android-assign.jpg


sharing-android-notify.jpg

Everyone you share a project with will have full access to all of the information including tasks, comments, and uploaded files. They’ll be able to add new tasks, assign tasks, complete tasks, add comments, and (if they’re Premium) upload new files. You can even share projects with people who don’t have a Todoist account yet.

Free users can share any projects with up to 5 people (they can be a different 5 people in each project). Premium users can share projects with up to 25 people, and Business users can share with up to 50 people.

How to share projects

  1. Right click on the project you want to share.
  2. Select Share project from the menu.
  3. Type in the name of the person you want to share with. If it’s someone you’ve never shared a project with before, you’ll need to type in the email associated with their Todoist account. If they don’t have a Todoist account, just type in their email address. They’ll receive a project invite email with the option to set up a free account in seconds.
  4. Click Invite to send the invitation(s).  

sharing-web-sharing.jpg

 

  1. Click or tap on the project you want to share.
  2. Click or tap on the person icon in the top-right corner of the project.
  3. Type in the name of the person you want to share with. If it’s someone you’ve never shared a project with before, you’ll need to type in the email associated with their Todoist account. If they don’t have a Todoist account, just type in their email address. They’ll receive a project invite email with the option to set up a free account in seconds.

sharing-windows-sharing.jpg

  1. Tap to open the project you want to share.
  2. Tap the Ios-more-outline.svg project actions icon in the top right corner.
  3. Select Share project. A list of all current project collaborators will appear.
  4. Tap the + symbol in the top-right corner again to add new collaborators.
  5. Type in the name of the person you want to share with. If it’s someone you’ve never shared a project with before, you’ll need to add the email associated with their Todoist account. If they don’t have a Todoist account, just type in their email address. They’ll receive a project invite email with the option to set up a free account in seconds.

sharing-ios-sharing.jpg

  1. Tap to open the project you want to share.
  2. Tap the three_dots.png project actions icon in the top right corner.
  3. Select Share project. A list of all current project collaborators will appear.
  4. Tap the person icon in the top-right corner again to add new collaborators.
  5. Type in the name of the person you want to share with. If it’s someone you’ve never shared a project with before, you’ll need to add the email associated with their Todoist account. If they don’t have a Todoist account, just type in their email address. They’ll receive a project invite email with the option to set up a free account in seconds.

sharing-android-sharing.jpg

Everyone you invite to a project will receive an email to accept your invitation to join.

You can change your Settings to automatically accept project invites from people you’ve shared projects with before.

sharing-web-auto-accept.jpg

How to remove people from shared projects

  1. Right click on the shared project.
  2. Select “Share Project”. A list of current collaborators will appear.
  3. Hover over the name you want to remove and click on the trash can icon that will appear to the right.
  1. Click or tap on the shared project.
  2. Click or tap on the person icon in the top right.
  3. Click or tap on the trash can icon next to the names you want to remove. 
  1. Open the shared project.
  2. Tap theIos-more-outline.svg project actions icon in the top-right corner.
  3. Tap Share project in the drop-down menu. A list of current collaborators will appear.
  4. Tap on the X icon next to the names you want to remove.
  1. Open the shared project.
  2. Tap thethree_dots.png project actions icon in the top-right corner.
  3. Tap Sharing in the drop-down menu. A list of current collaborators will appear.
  4. Tap on the name(s) you want to remove.  
  5. Tap on the person X icon in the top-right corner. 

 

 

 

Submit a request
Have more questions? Contact Us