Change your notifications settings

Available for:
Free
Premium
Business

Stay up-to-date by receiving notifications when updates are made in your shared projects. You can customize which events you’ll be notified about, and whether you want to receive them by email or push notification.

Here’s how to manage your notification settings:

  1. Click the gear icon in the top right of Todoist.
  2. Click Settings > Notifications.
  3. To receive notifications on the web, select Yes from the Web notifications drop down.
  4. To manage which notifications you’ll receive from shared projects, scroll down to the the Shared project notifications section.
  5. For each action taken by a teammate in a shared project, you can receive an email notification (email icon) or push notification on your device (phone icon).
  6. Check the checkboxes for the various types of notifications you’d like to receive and uncheck the ones you don’t. For more details about what each action means, read the More about sharing notifications section below.
  1. Tap the more icon in the top left in Todoist.
  2. Tap Settings > Notifications.
  3. If you want to turn push notifications on or off on this device, check or uncheck Local notifications.
    • If you have push notifications turned on, you can select a custom sound to play by clicking Sound.
    • You can select whether Todoist notifications will vibrate your phone using the Vibrate checkbox.
    • You can turn the daily Review notification on or off by clicking Daily review. The daily review notification is sent once a day and informs you of how many tasks you have yet to complete that day.
    • You can select the time to send the daily review notification using Send notification at…
    • By default, the daily review will only be sent if you still have uncompleted tasks for the day. You can ensure the daily review is sent every day by unchecking Only show with tasks.
    • The daily review includes overdue tasks by default. You can turn that off and only show today’s tasks by unchecking Include overdue tasks.
  4. To turn notifications from shared projects on or off, tap Sharing.
    • For each action taken by a teammate in a shared project, you can receive an email notification (email icon) or a push notification on your device (phone icon).
    • Check the various types of notifications you’d like to receive and uncheck the ones you don’t. For more details about what each action means, read the More about sharing notifications section below.
  5. If applicable, you can turn on or off notifications related to your TD Business account by tapping Business.
    • You can turn email and push notifications on or off for each option in the same way as you do for shared notifications.
  1. To turn Todoist notifications on or off, you must use the iOS notification settings found on your iOS device.
  2. To customize notifications from shared projects, open the Todoist app.
  3. Tap the gear icon in the top right.
  4. Tap Notifications.
    • For each action taken by a teammate in a shared project, you can receive a notification by email (email icon) or as a push notification on your device (phone icon).
    • Check the various types of notifications you’d like to receive and uncheck the ones you don’t. For more details about what each action means, read the More about sharing notifications section below.
  1. Click the more icon in the top left of the Todoist app.
  2. Click the gear icon.
  3. Click Notifications to the right.
  4. To turn desktop notifications on or off for this Windows 10 device, check or uncheck Display desktop notifications.
  5. To manage notifications from shared projects, click Sharing.
    • For each action taken by a teammate in a shared project, you can receive a notification by email (email icon) or as a push notification on your device (phone icon).
    • Check the various types of notifications you’d like to receive and uncheck the ones you don’t. For more details about what each action means, read the More about sharing notifications section below.
  6. If applicable, you can turn notifications related to your TD Business account on or off by clicking Business.
    • You can turn email and push notifications on or off for each option in the same way as you do for shared notifications.

More about sharing notifications

There are several types of actions that people can take in a shared project. You can decide which ones you want to be notified about:

  • Comments attached to me: When someone has chosen to notify you about a task comment.
  • Tasks assigned to me: When someone has assigned you a task.
  • Tasks completed: When a task that you’ve created is completed.
  • Tasks uncompleted: When a task that you’ve created is uncompleted.
  • Collaborator joined project: When someone accepts your invite to join a project.
  • Collaborator declined invitation to project: When someone declines your invite to join a project.
  • Collaborator left project: When someone leaves a project that you’re a part of.
  • Collaborator removed from project: When someone removes another member from a project.