Add a project, label or filter to favorites

Available for:
Free
Premium
Business

Separate your highest impact tasks from the everyday noise by pinning important projects, labels and filters to your favorites.

HC_-_Favorite_a_project__small_.gif

All Todoist users can add a project to favorites, but only Todoist Premium or Todoist Business users can add a label or filter to favorites.

Here’s how it works:

  1. Right click the project, label or filter you want to add to favorites.
  2. Select Add to favorites from the drop-down menu.
  3. Your project, label or filter will show up in your navigation panel:
    • HC_-_Favorite_a_project__large_.gif
  1. At the top left of Todoist, tap the menu icon.
  2. At the bottom of your project list, tap Manage projects.
  3. Tap the heart icon beside the project, label or filter you want to add to favorites.
  4. Your project, label or filter will show up in your navigation panel:
    • HC_-_Android_-_Favorite_project__small_.png
You can add multiple projects, labels or filters to your favorites at once by tapping them to select them and then tapping the heart button at the bottom.
  1. Swipe the name of the project, label or filter you want to add to favorites from right to left.
  2. Tap the pencil icon.
  3. Turn on the Add to favorites toggle (green is on).
  4. Your project, label or filter will show up in your navigation panel:
    • HC_-_iOS_-_Favorite_project__small_.png
Add to favorites even faster by swiping the project, label or filter from left to right.
  1. Favorites for Windows 10 isn't ready yet, but it's coming soon and will work like this:
    1. Right click on the project, label or filter you want to add to favorites.
    2. Select Add to favorites from the drop-down menu.
    3. Your project, label or filter will show up in your navigation panel.

Hide a project, label or filter from favorites

You can hide a project, label or filter from favorites whenever you need to.

HC_-_Unfavorite_a_project__large_.gif

  1. Hover over the project, label or filter you want to hide from favorites and click on the three dot icon that appears to the right of its name.
  2. Select Hide from favorites from the drop-down menu.
  1. At the top left of Todoist, tap the menu icon.
  2. At the bottom of your project list, tap Manage projects.
    • If you’re removing a filter, scroll to the bottom of your filter list and tap Manage filters.
    • If you’re removing a label, scroll to the bottom of your label list and tap Manage labels.
  3. Tap the red heart beside the project, label or filter you want to hide from favorites. It will turn grey, indicating it is no longer favorited.
You can hide multiple projects, labels or filters from your favorites at once by tapping them to select them and then tapping the heart button at the bottom.
  1. Swipe the name of the project, label or filter you want to hide from favorites from right to left.
  2. Tap the pencil icon.
  3. Turn off the Add to favorites toggle (grey is off).
To quickly hide a project, label or filter from favorites, swipe it left to right.
  1. Right click on the project, label or filter you want to hide from favorites.
  2. Select Hide from favorites from the drop-down menu.

FAQs

Q: Can I pin individual tasks to my favorites?

A: No, you can only add projects, filters or labels to your favorites.

Q: If I add a favorite on the web, will it show up on my phone? Do favorites sync across all my devices?

A: Yes, your favorites will sync across your devices.

Q: Can I reorder favorites?

A: Yes, but only within each category of projects, labels and filters.

Favorites are listed in the same order as they appear in your projects, labels and filters lists. So if you wanted a project to appear at the top of your favorites, for example, you would simply drag-and-drop (Web, macOS, Windows) or tap and hold and then drag (Android, iOS) the project to the top of your Projects list. It would then move to the top of the projects area in your favorites.

However, you can't change the order that the favorites categories will be listed: projects, labels and then filters.

Q: Will my project, label or filter still be accessible from its original location when I add it to favorites?

A: Yes.

When you add a project, label or filter to favorites, nothing is moved: A new shortcut to your original project, label or filter is simply added to your navigation panel. You can still access the original in the same way you always have.

It’s the same when you hide from favorites: nothing is moved or deleted; only the link in your navigation panel is hidden.