Notify someone else about a comment

Available for:
Free
Premium
Business

There will be times when you write a task comment and want to make sure your teammate sees it. In those cases, you can notify them.

When working on a shared project, add a comment as usual and notify them as follows:

To notify someone about a comment, you’ll need to share the project with them first.
  1. Start a new task or project comment in a shared project. You’ll see who will currently be notified in the bottom right.
  2. Click Change in the bottom right.
  3. Select the people you’d like to notify by using the checkboxes to the left of each person’s name.
    • You can select everyone by toggling the Notify the following people checkbox. Toggle it again to select nobody.
  4. When you post the comment, the selected people will receive the comment in their notifications.
If there is only one other person in the project, you will see a single checkbox in the bottom right beside Notify Name about my comment. Use that checkbox to notify that single person when you send the comment.



  1. Start a new task or project comment on a task in a shared project.
  2. Tap the bell icon in the bottom left.
  3. Select the people you want to notify.
  4. Now when you post the comment, the selected people will receive the comment in their notifications.
  1. Start a new task or project comment in a shared project.
  2. Tap the bell icon in the bottom right.
  3. Select the people you’d like to notify by tapping their names.
  4. When you’re finished, tap Done in the top right.
  5. Now when you post the comment, the selected people will receive the comment in their notifications.

Read more about sharing projects and collaborating in Todoist.